The Fate of Mr. Devereaux’s Cello

A while ago, I subscribed to The Daily Post which, if you didn’t know, gives daily and weekly writing prompts.   I’ve written a few posts based on the prompts, but those will remain in my draft folder likely forever.  And you’re welcome for that.

The prompt for this week piqued my interest.  The challenge is to write a story in exactly fifty words.  I found myself sharing the following micro story with my girls throughout the day… which is probably why it sounds like a nursery rhyme.  Still I like it enough that I will publish it here.

The Fate of Mr. Devereaux’s Cello

Mr. Deveraux was not just any fellow

For he was quite skilled at playing the cello.

Oh, the lovely sounds produced by that bow!

It was said only he could make a wasp mellow.

Alas one day, he let out a bellow,

“Oh no! Why is my prized cello yellow?” 

9 thoughts on “The Fate of Mr. Devereaux’s Cello

  1. Pingback: A good ole bloody fifty | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  2. Pingback: Story Of My Life | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Fifty | To Breathe is to Write

  4. Pingback: Fifty for a Story | Wired With Words

  5. Pingback: Her First Word [50-WORD STORY] | Ramisa the Authoress

  6. Pingback: Fifty (1): Straight. | Vagrant Contradictions

  7. Pingback: Stunned—Fifty Words Story | DESIRABLE PURITY

  8. Pingback: Healer | Another Red Letter Day

Leave a Reply

