Knitted Cat Hats (Not for Cats)

The following project was made from one of the knitting books I got for Christmas: Animal Hats by the creative Vanessa Mooncie.  Each hat pattern is offered in either a child size or an adult size.  The author didn’t make it clear what a child meant, so I decided to scale down the yarn size and needles to make a hat for my toddler.  As a result, I made a hat that fit my infant.

The cat hat is knit flat and in intarsia.  The inner and outer ears, cheeks, and nose are knit separately and attached at the end.  The whiskers and eyes are added embellishments that are sewn on.  So while cat hat worked up prettily easily, it took forever to sew.

That being said, it only took a day to make.

So I made two.

I skipped the step for lining the hat because I was afraid it would make the hats fit tighter.  My knitting notes can be found here.

Leave a Reply

