The Letter E

At this stage in Wren’s life, I haven’t worried too much about her education. We read a lot of books together and we do a bit of counting, like when we go up and down the steps. When I ask her to count, she’ll say “un, doo, sih, se’en, teh!” What’s cute is when she recites her numbers unprompted, you never know what order she’ll say them in!

She likes to play on my iPad when I do her hair, and one of her favourite apps is Endless Alphabet. Here, the letters are presented in upper case, drawn colorfully, and make the corresponding phonetic sounds. For example, W is not “double-u” but “wa” or “wa wa wa” if her finger is pressed down for more than a second. She can arrange the letters into the appropriate words and then a little story is played followed by the definition. Words can be as simple as wave and as long as gargantuan.

Lately I’ve been wanting her to improve her drawing skills and together we sit (as best we can for those of you who know how active she is) with paper and crayons at the little table her grandfather made for her last Christmas. I also have been showing her how to write her name, of course, in vain.

Well, yesterday, I was doodling on a friend’s tablet (not an electronic device) and made an E. I wasn’t doing this for anyone’s benefit but none the less she saw what I was doing and proudly said “E!”

Later I drew the same letter on her chalkboard for her daddy to witness. Sure enough, “E!” And then I drew another letter in her name. “Arrrh!” like a pirate, she exclaimed.

I guess we’ll keep doing what we’re doing because it seems to be working.

20131210-101751.jpg

Wren at 20 Months

Leave a Reply

