I made that! (Fleece Rag Quilt Bag Edition)

It’s no secret that I’m crafty, so I usually end up with odds and ends from other people.  My friend Jenna gave me some leftover squares from a fleece blanket she made for her nieces.  She figured I could probably make something out of those 28 squares.

I started to sew those squares together.  Wrong side together.  Piece by piece.   Eventually I made rows of three squares.  Then I twice made a square of nine squares.  I didn’t know what I was going to make, but I just wanted to clear my mind by crafting something.  It started to take shape.  Was it meant to be a box?

My mother-in-law gave me some cotton fabric that she had intended to turn into a rag quilt, but she never got around to it.  I realized that my “box” needed more structure, so I took the pink fabric with green polka dots and ironed on some fusible interfacing to make a sturdy lining.  Once I got the lining inserted, I realized that the box was too narrow.  Was it meant to be a purse?

So I took the green fabric with pink polka dots and made a handle.  I secured it on the inside of the purse.  Yes, it was meant to be a purse.

Purse

… A fun little purse for a fun little girl!

Purse in Action

I really enjoyed sewing this project because I didn’t have to spend a dime on the materials!  Also, the nerdy side of my brain really enjoyed adding and multiplying fractions.  My notes are going into my crafting folder should I want to revisit this project again although it really was fun sewing by the seat of my pants.

6 thoughts on “I made that! (Fleece Rag Quilt Bag Edition)

    • Thanks! Somedays she likes it more than others. Like today at church, she gave her dad this look of “what are you doing” when he tried to put it on her, haha!

      Reply
  1. Pingback: 31 Weeks | Polly's Blog

  2. Pingback: 2013: The year of making stuff | Polly's Blog

Leave a Reply

