Chicken “Muffin Pan” Pie

The child is napping.  And all through the house there was much rejoicing.

It’s been a rough month of teething.  It seems that all of her remaining teeth want to come in, at once.  This negatively affects sleeping.  This leads to unpredictable meltdowns at home and in public.

But I think we’re seeing improvement because her appetite is back, which leads me to what I want to write about:  my newest fascination with muffin pan cooking.  I can’t believe I haven’t written about it yet.

To me, muffin pan cooking is like food deconstruction.  You know, you take a basic concept like lasagna and identify all of the pieces that make it a lasagna.  The noodles, the sauce, the ricotta cheese, the protein, etc.  A fancy chef would then reconstruct those ingredients into a main dish that looks nothing like lasagna but pays homage to its roots.  

Muffin pan cooking is supposed to be simple.  Most muffin pan recipes I’ve come across though manipulate the recipe somewhat.  So instead of lasagna noodles, they might request wonton wrappers.

Other muffin pan recipes also call for shortcuts.

I don’t like shortcuts.

Often times, shortcuts involve pre-manufactured food.  These processed foods usually have a ton of sodium in them, not to mention a list of preservative ingredients which I can hardly pronounce let alone identify.  If you were to take a peek into my cupboards, you wouldn’t find any cans of Campbell soup.  If you looked in my fridge, you wouldn’t find any store-bought cookie dough.

(You would notice that I have at least two types of shortening in my fridge and at least eight types of sugar stored away.)

Nope, I like to make things from scratch.  No shortcuts for me.

So when I come across a muffin pan recipe that interests me, I must fiddle with it.

For example, I spotted this mini chicken pot pie recipe on Pinterest last night and just had to make it.   (Thanks, Katie!) Though I don’t have Pillsbury biscuits in the fridge or cream of chicken soup, I did one better and made my biscuits from scratch (rolled to 1/4″ high).  I also made the chicken pot pie filling from scratch.

If you are going to repeat this success story, make sure to double the biscuit recipe.   (This will then serve 24.)  There was twice as much chicken pot pie filling than biscuits.  This isn’t a problem because tonight’s dinner is going to be chicken pot pie deconstructed.  You see, I’m going to make proper biscuits and then ladle the remaining warm chicken pot pie filling on top (like a Southern biscuits and gravy breakfast).

I should have totally taken pictures last night of the muffin pan version.  They were so purdy.  Alas, we devoured them all.  Even my little girl went back for more.

That’s another problem about muffin pan cooking, the serving sizes appear so small that you end up eating more than you should.  But no one really complains about that.

3 thoughts on “Chicken “Muffin Pan” Pie

      • That is good to know. We’re going on 4 years without an oven, however, and we won’t get one until we remodel the kitchen, so any baking I can do in a toaster/convection oven is sort of exciting.

Leave a Reply

