30 Weeks

While on vacation, I crossed into the third trimester.  As on cue, my feet started to swell and my back started to ache.  Since returning home, I’ve returned to a healthier diet and minimized the edema.  Sleeping on my own mattress has helped the back pain lessen, but it’s still there.

I’m now 30 weeks pregnant, and I’ve gotten the Rhogam shot.  I’m still trying to figure out why my health insurance denied my claim for it, but I digress.  After I got the shot in my arm, my sweet Wren leaned in and gave me a kiss on my forehead.  She’s going to be a great big sister!

I also took my gestational diabetes test last week, and I went over with the results with the doctor today.  I failed it by two points.  It’s not all doom and gloom, yet.  She wants me to get additional blood work done tomorrow morning after a long period of fasting.  Needless to say, I scheduled the blood draw for the first available appointment!  I’m hopeful that I will pass, as I have returned to my normal diet.  But even if I fail, I’ll just have to manage for about 10 weeks or so.

The baby’s heartbeat was good and strong.  Even though I’m very anxious to meet her, I’m not ready.  I need someone to slow down time for me!  Please!

In other health news, I’m not where my primary doctor wants me to be on the asthma plan.  He wanted me to be off the inhalers and Claritin by now, but that’s not happening.  The few times I’ve eliminated the Flovent, I started coughing again.  I’m also increasingly short of breath, but who knows how much of that is asthma or being pregnant. I’m at a loss, so I hope meeting with him again soon will give me some encouragement.

All in all, life is good right now.  Except for the health insurance company denying a vital drug, I can’t complain.

… Ten more weeks, eek!

7 thoughts on “30 Weeks

  1. I’ve had a lot of trouble with health insurance companies over the years. Even though I have great coverage now, anytime I get a notice or hospital bill, I get a bit of a panicky feeling, In one of those cases, it was a bill for a pregnancy cardiac test which the insurance pre-approved. It helps to call both the insurance company and the provider. In my case, more often than not, it was incompetent administrators incorrectly submitting paperwork, and the insurance company denying the claim until the paperwork was filed correctly. I hope things work out for you.

    Reply
    • Things did improve once we got Okey’s employer’s health insurance broker involved (bureaucracy much?). I couldn’t wait for them to make up their minds so I went ahead and bought the medication. Thankfully they said they will reimburse me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

