Mine (A Rant about Townhouse Parking)

It’s been a long while since my last rant on the blog.  (My Twitter feed doesn’t count.)

I’m so tired of living where I do.  There are only 38 townhomes, and I like most of my neighbors.  However, I can’t stand the board members and their sense of entitlement, especially when it comes to my parking spot.

I have struggled with parking trespassers for years.  I will never forget being told by a woman who would one day serve on the board, “Just assume it’s me parking there.”  I replied, “Just assume don’t park there.”  She continued to park there and have her guests park there, too.  When asking her guests to relocate their car, their responses would include something along the line of “Well, we’re here for a Bible Study” as they walk away leaving their car in my spot…  /cue tow truck

I tried to join the board and make a difference.  However, I was accused of being a snake and untrustworthy.  (Long story short, someone else “leaked” information but she was going through a divorce and I didn’t feel like tattling on her.  My simple “It wasn’t me” didn’t appease my accuser.)  Oh, I was called (and am still called) a racist by the president.  (Sorry, bud, you are not the President of the United States of America.  You get a lower case “p.”)  He made my life miserable enough that I had the Sheriff serve him no trespassing papers, and my life now (in regards to him) has been so much better since then.  (PS  He’s an elder at his church and refused my request for mediation through our pastors.)  Edited to add:  I wasn’t able to make a difference.

Today, I had a doctor’s appointment, lunch with a friend, some last minute errands to run before we depart on our vacation.  Needless to say, I was gone a long time.  By the time I got home, I was tired, hungry, thirsty, and had to, er, use the facilities.  I noticed a car parked poorly and was basically taking up two spots.  Whose car could it be?  The daughter of the HOA’s secretary.  (Not a Christian as far as I know.)

Thank goodness for cell phones because I called Okey and had him go knock on their door.  If he hadn’t been available, I just could not imagine taking Wren out of the car, waddling to their door, grumpily asking them to move, putting her back in the car seat so I could drive my car.  Who am I kidding?  I would just have blocked her in.

It’s been a long day.  I need a vacation.  Hurry up, Saturday.

4 thoughts on “Mine (A Rant about Townhouse Parking)

    • Okey brought beer, and even though I couldn’t help him imbibe — those at the house had no problems emptying all of the growlers he did bring!

      Reply
  1. Yeah, I understand the frustration. You pay to have your parking spot and people have an entitled attitude and take what doesn’t belong to them. It makes it even more difficult when you have a baby. People here have an entitled attitude here, too. They are always blocking a lane of traffic or the only lane of traffic as they load or unload their cars. Meanwhile, there is a spot on the street to park just back or up or right beside where they are. It’s narcissism at its finest which makes driving like a video game.
    I hope you have a relaxing vacation!

    Reply
  2. People in cars make me crazier than crazy. Last week at gymnastics, I parked, pulled out to make sure I was straight in the parking spot. The cars that parked on either side of mine parked like crazy people. One was so crooked that I couldn’t get Mea out of the backseat. JERKS!

    A while back, I saw a picture of someone who had taken sidewalk chalk to draw new lines around a car that was double parked and wrote “Asshole Parking” behind the car. Makes me want to keep a piece of chalk in my car at all times.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

