Week in Review

I’m realizing this has been a good week. A lot has happened, and it’s just sinking in now.

I prepared a list of things that needed to be done in relation to the coming baby. First off, we need to transform the guest room into the new nursery. We plan on putting the two girls in there. However, it’s not as simple as moving furniture. The guest room is the last room that hasn’t been re-insulated. The panels need to come down. I am eager to replace the closet doors and patch the hole in that closet’s ceiling that once served as an entrance to the attic. There was also discussion of re-doing the carpet so that it matches the rest of the third level. Oh, and I want this done by July so that Wren has plenty of time to adjust to her new room. This is a big project in and of itself, but there is so much more to be done.

I have had so many sleepless nights since learning I was carrying a girl. We had a boy’s name picked out, but we just couldn’t agree on a girl’s name. I would say the girl’s full name in my dream, and I would jolt awake trying to remember what that pretty name was. I never could. Well, at last we agreed on a first name this week. It’s unique, and according to the interwebz, not unpopular with our last name so I’m hoping our families will like it, too. I am resting much better at night, but we still need to agree on a middle name. (Part of me wants to continue my Scottish family tradition and omit the middle name altogether, but Okey is against that idea.)

Unrelated to the baby, but related to getting the house in order before her arrival, I am wanting to de-clutter the large pieces of furniture that have been accumulating in our master bedroom. Today a neighbor will help Okey move a large bookcase down into our dining room where the rest of the set is, as well as rearrange some of the pieces there to make it fit. Since becoming a parent, I am willing to let the wine display rack go.

While I was clearing off the bookcase in the bedroom, I came across a great surprise. Our national parks annual pass! I guess I didn’t throw it away after all during my last cleaning blitz.

What else? We just signed up for the birthing class in August. My work has been steady, so that’s good. Okey and Wren are almost over their colds. I’m reducing the amount of Flovent I take daily as part of my doctor’s recommendation, and all seems to be going well despite my initial fears. I’ve confirmed plans to meet next week with another family who adopted their sweet little girl from the same hospital at the same time as us. I saw the OB, and she reported no anomalies from the last ultrasound. And, oh my, I can’t believe it was this past Sunday. We witnessed our dear friend’s son get baptized.

What a great week. I hope your alls’s has been great, too!

3 thoughts on “Week in Review

  1. Can’t wait to learn Tadpole’s name when she arrives! It was great having you all here for the baptism. I hope Okey and Wren didn’t get their colds from Ferb.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

