More Adventures in Knitting: Leg Warmers

This past winter, I felt that my little girl needed a little something warm to add to her wardrobe:  leg warmers!  Our Spring mornings here have been very cool, so I still have her wear them with her shorts or a dress.  These warmers easily come off once the sun comes out.

Leg Warmers

She likes them!

I have to toot my own horn here.  At the Gap Kids, I was asked where I bought them… 🙂

– –

For my future reference, and in case you want to make a pair as well, here how I made the leg warmers with circles and stripes:

Yarn:  Washable Ewe (worsted/sport weight) — Sadly Discontinued

Main Color:  Cottontail

Second Color:  Lilac

Needles:  Size 4, double pointed

Cast on 48 stitches in main color.

Rows 1 – 6:  K2P2 ribbing.

Rows 7 & 8:  Knit stockinette stitch for two rows.

Rows 9:  K2 in main color, K2 in second color . ( K4 in main color, K2 in second color. ) * K2 in main color.

Rows 10 – 12:  K1 in main color, K4 in second color.  ( K2 in main color, K4 in second color. ) * K1 in main color.

Row 13:  Repeat Row 9.

Rows 14 & 15:  Knit stockinette stitch for two rows.

Rows 16 & 17:   Switch to second color, knit stockinette stitch for two rows.

Rows 18 & 19:  Switch to main color, knit stockinette stitch for two rows.

Repeat Rows 16 – 19 twice.

Rows 24 & 25:  Switch to second color, knit stockinette stitch for two rows.

Row 26:  K2 in second color, K2 in main color.  (K4 in second color, K2 in main color.)  * K2 in second color.

Rows 27 -29:  K1 in second color, K4 in main color.  (K2 in second color, K4 in main color.) * K1 in second color.

Row 30:  Repeat Row 26.

Rows 31 & 32:  Knit stockinette stitch for two rows.

Rows 33 – 38:  K2P2 ribbing.

Bind off.

I attempted to chart the colorwork here.  You can click on the image to enlarge it.  The charting begins starts at Row 7, right after the ribbing:

chart for leg warmers

3 thoughts on “More Adventures in Knitting: Leg Warmers

  1. Wow, that is a compliment! I have never been asked where I bought something I made, but I have been asked “Did you make that?” Not quite the same kind of compliment for sure…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

