Burp Cloths

An acquaintance I know through several people was expecting a little girl, and I asked if there was anything she still needed.  Her answer was burp cloths as she hadn’t been able to find any.  I searched for heavy duty cloth diapers which work as burp cloths as well, and likewise, I was unsuccessful.  I decided that I could make her a set of burp cloths, so I picked up my knitting needles.  When I got word that she had already given birth, I put down the needles and took out the sewing machine.

I settled on this pattern by Made by Rae which didn’t look fancy or difficult.  Very quickly, I made three beautiful burp cloths.

I just bound off the knitted burp cloth today, and the completed set is on its way to the new mom and her daughter.  I followed the pattern for a chevron baby blanket found on the Purl Bee.  Of course, I used much smaller cotton yarn and size 7 needles.  It was a fun little project overall.

For my future reference, here is what I did:

Cast on 46 via a knitted cast on.  (14 stitches per section, plus 2 at the beginning and 2 at the end)

Knit 14 rows of yellow,

(4 rows of white, 4 rows of yellow) repeat once,

30 rows of variegated yarn,

(4 rows of yellow, 4 rows of white) repeat once,

Knit 13 rows of yellow and bind off on wrong side using method found on blanket link.

Handmade Burp Cloths

(The sewn burp cloths measure 17.5″ x 11.5″ – to be folded lengthwise when used.  I forgot to block/measure the knitted one, but it was a good size to drape over the shoulder.)

2 thoughts on “Burp Cloths

  1. Pingback: 2013: The year of making stuff | Polly's Blog

Leave a Reply

