A Perfect Spring Hike

We’re looking for new place to hike.  [Somehow recently I went through a cleaning frenzy at the same time of experiencing baby brain, and I threw away our annual national park pass.]   So basically we were looking for a free park.  I also wanted a park that offered a bit of a challenge.  I prefer hilly trails with tree roots to smooth and flat paths.

We felt that Whitney State Park was suitable, and off we went.  Although not technically far from our house, it was a region we weren’t accustomed to.  Well, when you don’t know you’re lost, you just keep on going…  And so it took us two hours to get to a destination 45 minutes from our house.  (Honestly, I don’t know why the man driving the car was taking directions from the woman who threw away a perfectly valid park pass.)

I was excited to try out my new Deuter baby carrier.  It was very comfortable in the store where I carried Wren up and down the steps without a problem.  We did have to make a few adjustments to the pack as we went, but all in all, I am very happy with it.  I think Wren was okay with it, too.

Whitney State Park Hike

I tried to not overdo it today, as I want to go on another hike with a friend tomorrow.  I want to get enough experience with the pack so that I can be independent as I meet up with some friends later next week at another new and free park.

The weather was perfect for today’s excursion considering we were roughly 20° cooler from the previous highs of the week.  I don’t think it ever brok 70°.  This is what Spring should be like!

Leave a Reply

