Health Update

If you’ve been following this blog, or talked to me on the phone, you will have known that I’ve been sick for a very long time.  I’ve been plagued with a cough that just wouldn’t go away despite many home remedy attempts.  This annoying cough wakes me up in the middle of the night and has triggered a lot of vomitting.  (With the flu, this, and other stuff that’s been going on… I’ve lost about nine pounds.  As strange as this sounds, I’m not really interested in losing weight right now so this loss has not been welcome news.)

I finally saw the doctor yesterday.  He was perplexed by my chronic cough.  He said that a chest x-ray just wasn’t possible for me right now, and he mentioned that I could have acid reflex, but he wanted to go ahead and get me on an inhaler since I was experiencing asthma-like symptoms.  That was the first of everything he wanted to rule out.

So here we are, less than 24 hours later.  I am still coughing, but nothing like before.  I didn’t wake up in the middle of the night with the discomfort I’ve grown accustomed to these past six weeks.  Not only do I have energy and can walk up the steps without having to catch my breath, but I have an appetite again!  I don’t really want to be on an inhaler for the rest of my life, but the rapid improvement is incredible.  I go back to see the doctor next week for a follow-up and to determine our next course of action.

In the meantime, I just wanted to share a little bit of good news.

One thought on “Health Update

  1. Pingback: The Attack | Polly's Blog

Leave a Reply

