How About that 2012?

I guess this is the time of the year where I sit back and reflect on whether it was a good one or not.  [Spoiler Alert:  It was a really good one.]  And I guess this is when I can upload really random photos from this past year that haven’t been on the blog. So, here goes!

In January, we went to Canaan Valley with some friends for some fun in the snow.   I really enjoyed snowshoeing.  I also made a goal to get in shape, lose weight, and stop drinking soda.

In February, we went back to Canaan Valley with one of Okey’s brothers and his wife.  I learned I will never be a skier.

March came, and we thought we were settling into 2012 just fine.  Then we got “the phone call,” and our lives literally changed forever.  We welcomed home our beautiful baby girl later that month.

April had a steep learning curve as we figured out the whole parenting routine.

May brought trips to North Carolina and Texas to visit friends and family, respectively.

We hit our stride during the summer months, continuing to make trips to visit family in West Virginia and Ohio as well as welcoming many who travelled on the busy highway near our townhouse.

At the end of September, we started the adoption finalization process, and Wren got her first tooth.  We also said good-bye to my brother and his family as they moved to Guam.

October was a lot of fun as we had a houseful of babies.

More Friends

In November, Wren was dedicated to the Lord.  We had a very special time of Thanksgiving at home.

In December, the adoption was finalized.  We also celebrated Christ Jesus’ birth for the first time as a family and in our own home.

Well, the year is over in a few hours.  I didn’t lose as much weight as I wanted, I’m still not able to run a 10k, BUT I have been coke-free for one year AND I have made a lot of fun memories with my daughter.  I am very happy with how this year turned out, and I eagerly welcome next year.

From our family to yours… Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “How About that 2012?

    • Maybe I should have written that we were more confident in our roles as parents. We worked out the lack of sleep to coffee ratio, finally understood how to introduce a faster nipple flow, and at last figured out the I-just-want-to-go-to-bed cry!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

