Knitting Pattern: Headband

What I’ve learned, but don’t yet understand why, is that children’s clothing is expensive. A cute dress can cost just as much as something I would buy myself even though its made with considerably less yardage. The same goes for accessories.

I have been trying to be frugal so I have been making little things here and there. Several months ago, I knit up this headband for my daughter using some scrap yarn. It’s so simple I wanted to share how I did it.

  1. Using the largest recommended needle for the yarn’s weight, cast on 8 stitches.
  2. Knit until you are about an inch less than the child’s head circumference. Cast off.
  3. Sew ends together.

La voilà!

(If you are particularly good at knitting, you could use a provisional cast on. Then you could graft the end with the cast on for a seamless join.)

My friend Enna gave me a lot of crocheted flowers from her swatch pile that I tie into the seam on the headband. Because she left long tails, I can easily untie and attach a different flower. You could use a large button or attach a bow.

These crafty accessories are so my style. They look earthy and classic. Because the garter stich is being stretched vertically, it is very elastic and fits for a long time. It serves the same purpose as a ribbing stitch, but it is also so much simpler.

I hope that this inspires you to make something that hasn’t been patterned.

2 thoughts on “Knitting Pattern: Headband

Leave a Reply

