The Quilter’s Progress

It’s time for an update on that baby quilt that was causing me a headache.  I checked out a dozen or so books from the library about quilting techniques.  I couldn’t find anything conclusive, but I figured that I might as well invest in a walking foot.  When I walked into the quilting store, and I said “I am having problems with my quilt, and I think I need a walking foot,” everyone agreed.  Mind you, I hadn’t even told them what my problem was.

Walking Foot

The engineer that is my husband was very eager to help me install it on my sewing machine.  Immediately, I could tell it was working.  The point of a walking foot is to feed thick fabrics from the bottom and the top.  I am very happy.

I have now added the binding to the quilt.  Right when I was ready to start whipstitching, I looked ahead and realized that I have no idea how to finish it. I followed the instructions in the book which had me start by sewing the binding onto the quilt.  I know, that sounds simple, but what I think the author forgot is that I needed to have folded the binding.  She admits her method is not very traditional.  She does not cut on the bias nor are the strips joined at a 45° angle.   However,  it’s going to look messy because the edge of the binding is exposed on the front side and is frayed a bit.

My first option is to fold the starting piece (once I get all the way back around to it) at 45°.  It’ll be the only fold like it, but this will be the simplest solution.

My second option is to tear out the binding at that section and fold the beginning.

I think I am going to do the first option on this quilt.  I’m getting pretty tired of ripping out stitches on this quilt.  It’s not a gift, so I don’t need to worry about giving someone something inferior.  But then again, I will have to look at it.

Oh, that quilt I’ve been sketching?  I went to the store and bought the following fabric which I love, but they (the fabric) are asking to be pieced in a different block pattern.   So now I’m sketching out new patterns.

I hope to reach a conclusion and post a “It’s finished!” update soon.

What creative projects are you working on now?

4 thoughts on “The Quilter’s Progress

Leave a Reply

