About X (and a Recipe)

Country Living Blackberry Rose Ice Pops

Evidently all three of my sisters got together and ate popsicles that my talented sister X made. And when I say talented, I mean puts Martha-Stewart-to-shame talented. Invent and patent a custom teddy bear to hold photos?  Sew wedding gowns?  Upholster her living room and sew coordinating curtains?  Create the awesome “hands of love” quilt for Wren?  Raise three beautiful and smart children, the kind that reassure you that there is hope in the next generation?  Take all the creativity genes that should have been shared among her sisters?  Yep.  That’s her.

So when she forwarded the popsicle recipe to all of her sisters, it didn’t shock me to see that it contained a rare ingredient: rose water.  The note on the recipe said that high end grocery stores would carry this ingredient, so off to Wegman’s I went.  Alas, I could not find this delicacy.  I tried to call my sister to figure out what I could use as a substitute, but she didn’t pick up.

I came home and realized that not only did I not have the rose water, I didn’t even buy enough blackberries so I raided my fridge for other fruits to get to the target weight of 27 oz.  I researched substitutes for rose water online and learned that I could use vanilla or almond extract.  Neither of those seemed like they would go with blackberries and peaches, plums, and blueberries.  Then I had an aha! moment.  I have spearmint growing in the backyard, so I picked four leaves and tore them into the simple syrup to maximize their flavor.  I continued to follow the recipe as best as I could (except I switched out an orange for the lemon) and wow! this tasted great.

Here’s the link to the official recipe:  http://www.countryliving.com/recipefinder/blackberry-rose-ice-pops-recipe-clv0712

Here’s what I did:

  • 9-1/3 Tbsp. of organic cane sugar
  • 9-1/3 Tbsp. of water
  • 4 torn leaves of fresh spearmint

Heat and simmer until sugar is absorbed.

Using a food processor, puree the following:

  • 18 oz. of blackberries
  • 4 handfuls of blueberries
  • 2 plums
  • 1 peach
  • 1/4 orange

Combine and then pour over strainer into another pitcher.  Then pour the mixture into moulds and freeze.  My concoction took longer than five hours to freeze, so I think this is something best made a day in advance.

Polly’s Improvised Fruit Salad Ice Pop

When X and I reconnected after I made the recipe, we had a good laugh.  You see?  She also omitted the rose water.  So maybe she took the creativity genes, but at least she left me a few improvisational ones.  😉

PS  Why do I call her X?  Because my parents didn’t give her a middle name (it’s a Scottish thing), my sister would use the letter X to fill in the middle name section on forms.

7 thoughts on “About X (and a Recipe)

    • I can’t vouch for the official version, but mine is sooo yummy. I’m being good, though, and waiting to eat a whole popsicle with my husband when he gets home from work.

      Reply
  1. They look so delicious! Yeah, I’m bad to leave out ingredients when I can’t find them, or to create my own. My impulse would have been to a rose and soak it to make rose water, but looking online, I find that it’s not what rose water is at all. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

