Knitting Pattern: Pacifier Holder

Since I published the post about my making a pacifier holder, there have been quite a few people finding my blog with the search phrases “knitted pacifier holder” and “diy pacifier holder.”  Since I for one know that I could not find a pattern for a pacifier holder when I wanted to make one, I feel guilty that people have been coming to my blog for a solution and not getting one.

I applaud you, internet friends, for your desire to make something yourself.  Let me at last reward you with a pattern.

For this project you will need:

  • Cotton Yarn — check your scraps!
  • Knitting Needles, Size 7
  • Polyester Cord
  • 1″ Mitten Clip (found in the sewing section of your local craft store)
  • Fabric Glue
  • Scissors
  • Measuring Tape
  • Upholstery Needle

Stitch gauge: 5 stitches per inch.

Cast on five stitches (leaving a long tail) and knit until your desired length.  (I knit about eight inches.)  Bind off.  Cut yarn leaving another long tail.

Run the knitted lanyard through the mitten clip and then use the long tail sew the sides together as shown below.  (For extra support, I sewed along the top of the lanyard to secure the mitten clip in place.)

For the opposite end, you will want to have about six inches of cut polyester cord.  Fold about an inch of the lanyard on top of itself.  Run the folded cord through the lanyard. Fray the edges of the cord a bit and then glued the lanyard flap shut.  Follow the instructions for the setting of the glue.  (I set mine under some heavy books for 24 hours.)  After the glue is set, use the tail to sew the sides of the lanyard together.

Voilà!  A pacifier clip for your baby.

This is my first attempt at sharing a knitting pattern.  Please leave your feedback below!

3 thoughts on “Knitting Pattern: Pacifier Holder

  1. Pingback: Who wants a pacifier holder? | Polly's Blog

    • My apologies for responding so late. I remember reading your comment and knowing I wanted to give you a proper response, but I don’t remember what delayed me. Again, I am sorry to have taken so long.

      A lanyard is a small strap that is usually worn around one’s neck and can hold reading glasses, keys or an ID card. A “knitted lanyard” is one made with yarn and knitting needles rather than woven or corded.

      To attach the knitted lanyard to the mitten clip, you simply slide it through the suspender clip. That is the little opening opposite the clasp mechanism. The suspender clip can come in varying sizes. For this project, I have chosen a 1″ width suspender clip.

      The cord for attaching the pacifier is attached with glue on the other end of the knitted lanyard. I also have oversewn on the lanyard, that is rather than weaving in the yarn I used the end of the yarn, to securely tie down the cord. There are different types of pacifiers. Most, but not all, will have a little hole that you can slip the small cord through (and then pass the lanyard over, like a slip knot).

      I am working on a second version that will not require glue. I’ll post an update when I can.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

