I’m still here

Well, I’ve got a few minutes to summarize my year so far, so here goes:

I’ve been soda free for over 70 days.  I haven’t found a good exercise schedule yet, but I’m still losing a little bit of weight.  I think I’ll still be able to reach my target weight by June.

We’ve ventured to West Virginia quite a bit this year, and I’m looking forward to having more people coming to visit us.  One of the bridesmaid’s in my sister’s wedding who I now call a friend, Zenny, came to visit in January.  We had exceptional weather for sightseeing around the nation’s capital.  Enna is coming up from Tennessee next week, and I’m looking forward to returning to the city now that the cherry trees are in bloom.  Oh, and my mum is coming down the following week. And my sister Marji may be flying down soon, too.  (I really hope so!)

We’ve already purchased tickets to a wine tasting in upstate New York in April, and we’re supposed to buy our plane tickets to Texas in May.  Oh, and then we need to go to Ohio to help put siding on the farmhouse.  (Although I honestly don’t know how much help we can be.)  Then there’s a high school graduation at the beach in June.  (How am I old enough to have two nieces done with high school?)

I’m bummed that I haven’t been able to meet Sarah’s beautiful twins yet.  But between their hospital stays and family visits, I’ve had to put that on hold.  I don’t know where I’ll be able to fit a trip to Raleigh, but I’m determined to make it happen.

I’ve been busy knitting nothing in particular.  I’ve been rather fond of knitting hats and perhaps at some point I’ll upload pictures of them.  I’ve certainly made a lot of hats this year.

The baby’s room is looking grand (although I still need to finish the crib skirt).  The rocking chair my father-in-law made is here.  All of the furniture we need is assembled.  The only thing left to add to this crazy concoction called our life … is a baby.

When our social worker told us to live our life as normally as we could during the wait, I wonder if she could have anticipated this… haha!

2 thoughts on “I’m still here

  1. Wow! That is a lot of traveling. I remember having years like that. Well, enjoy them because I think it will be harder to keep the pavement hot when your bundle of joy is tiny. I do want to go see the twins, too, but I’m sort of tied up here. I think it will have to happen after my coming baby is big enough to travel.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

