Health Pledge Update: Overcoming the Cold Weather Oversight

I think I know why people break their New Year’s resolutions.  Because it is frrreeeeezing cold in January, that’s why!  So you should be proud of me because I actually have been doing really well keeping my health pledge.  I have not had any soda.  (Hip Hip Hooray!)  But I have to confess, I have not done any running (yet).  So, to make up for this cold weather oversight on my part, we have turned my mountain bike into an indoor exercise bike.  Here is how to do it:

You take one outdoor bike — in my case the Giant Boulder SE.

Change out the back tire to a skinny tire. (Ironically, my Specialized skinny tire is called a fatboy.)  If you have a road bike, your tire may be sufficiently skinny to fit into the trainer.

Place rear wheel in one CycleOps Magneto Trainer.

Place the front wheel on a CycleOps Climbing Riser.

And ride!

Here’s my actual set-up:

Since my last post, the scale and I have been going back and forth.  I dropped two pounds, gained one, lost four.  I am happy to say that I am no longer technically overweight. (Hip Hip Hooray!)  My next “Biggest Loser” weigh-in is on Thursday.

I do appreciate your concerns.  However, I do not feel that I am doing anything that I shouldn’t be doing anyway.  I am not exercising in excess — and I haven’t been eating chocolate in excess either.  I am keeping meat, vegetables and milkshakes (ok ok so I had one) in my diet.  My annual physical is coming up, and I will let the doctor know what I’ve been doing at that appointment.

3 thoughts on “Health Pledge Update: Overcoming the Cold Weather Oversight

Leave a Reply

