hobbies and more hobbies

Because I don’t have enough hobbies (this is sarcasm and where I direct you to please see my category column 🙂 ), my sister Marji gave me a couple of books for Christmas.  The first book rekindles my first real crafting passion which was beading.  Such beautiful designs!

The second book is intriguing and I could see myself making quilts.  I have been saving scraps of fabrics for a while so I think I might have enough to start a small project.  Mostly the scraps of fabric I’ve been saving have been for other projects like aprons for Okey, or matching pot holders, that I never quite got around to.  (If only I can get over my fear that I won’t be able to sew in a straight line!)

Because I don’t have enough potential hobbies (yes, the sarcasm continues), I drove down to Raleigh, North Carolina, to take a spinning class with Sarah at Shady Grove Farms.  We learned how to use a drop spindle and spinning machines to make yarn!  It was a trying process on Friday, and I discovered my first white hair later that night…  Saturday went better, and amazingly, yarn was indeed made.

Here are some fun pictures from the past weekend:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To be honest, I don’t mind my all of my unique hobbies.  🙂  And I actually think it couldn’t hurt to pick up a few more.

2 thoughts on “hobbies and more hobbies

  1. Pingback: Spinning in the Shady Grove | longtallyarn

Leave a Reply

