question #1

Question: Does being alone have to mean you are lonely?

Of course I find myself asking this rhetorical question sitting at home alone, looking ahead into the coming weeks and realizing how alone I will be. Yes, I find myself to be lonely.

I stumbled across a poem a few weeks ago by Tanya Davis. In “How to be Alone,” she gives good points on how to be alone. She was an encouragement to me on a recent trip when Okey had to go into the office and I was left in an unfamiliar place. I could have sat in the hotel room without purpose. I could have walked around for hours without purpose. Instead I found the courage to avoid my being alone principle and went to the beach and enjoyed myself there.

I’m at home now, in familiar surroundings, and I am struggling with the quietness again. My life is so full that I am overwhelmed when the silence rushes in at me. I should learn to embrace this time in my life though. I ought to follow in the footsteps of Jesus who often withdrew to lonely places and prayed (Luke 5v16). I need to remind myself that being lonely doesn’t have to be a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

