sunday at sea and on land

Okey and I woke up “early” and rushed over to catch the ferry at Dana Point Harbor. It was six thirty local time, which meant we were more rested than the locals.

The trip to Santa Catalina Island was an hour and twenty minutes long across very choppy waters. The fog hadn’t entirely lifted and our stomachs were always about to cave into seasickness. Fortunately, we had brought some things to distract us from the uncomfortable trip. Okey had his book, and I had my knitting needles. The dolphins didn’t seem to mind the weather; I spotted a few showing off with spectacular jumps.

The island reminded me of a Caribbean island. The tourist shops and markets were there along the harbor in what is the city of Avalon. The warm sun was shining there. We walked along the streets for a while and ended up in a Los Angeles park extension advocating island conservancy. It was a neat little building talking about island dwarfism and gigantism.

We headed back to the harbor where we enjoyed brunch at Coney Island West before renting a golf cart for further exploration. We took the cart up some steep roads and took in some magnificent views of the eastern half of the island. As we drove back down, we saw some people going down to the beach on a series of zip lines. It was very fun to watch, but I’m not so sure if I could stomach the adventure myself!

We spent a total of about five hours on the island. Catalina Island was one of those things you can cross off a travel to-do list. I don’t know if I’d want to return unless it was to cross over to the western half and watch the bison.

The return ferry trip was less eventful. The sun was out and the water was calmer. I slept the whole way back.

For dinner, Okey and I walked into the city of Dana Point. We were eager to et at Thai This, but we were disappointed. The menu was interesting and garnished a few laughs with categories called “Go Fish,” “Hog Wild,” and “Eat Bush and Leaf.” The food was however disappointing. I ordered the Clumsy Cluck, but it wasn’t savory and I feel some of the ingredients were left out. Okey’s meal (#34) was only a little bit better.

On our walk back to the hotel, we took in some amazing views of Dana Point Harbor. Unfortunately it was again cloudy, so I was unable to see the sun set on the Pacific Ocean. Yet it was another beautiful and satisfying trip to California.

Leave a Reply

